Green with envy…

About a month or so ago, we switched to AT&T DSL from Time Warner Cable internet to save some money every month. I’ve set up a number of computer clients on DSL and never had a problem.

Of course, once I set up my own home with it, there would be a problem; however, it was a simple problem to fix.

We had been having a speed issue almost from day one of the install. Turns out, it was a cabling issue. AT&T sends a very green cable to go from the phone jack to the DSL modem. I had swapped it out for a white phone cord so it was less obvious as I had run the cord up the wall and across the ceiling to my computer bench and that turned out to be the problem. Something about that cord wasn’t able to handle the DSL connection with speed like the AT&T green cable could.

Last night, I swapped the green cable back into service and we’re (almost) getting our advertised speed; it’s MUCH better than what we were getting.

Lesson of the story: stick with the factory equipment 😛

Green with envy…

Leave a comment